Everything, Including the Kitchen Sink at Bab El Khemis, Marrakech

Khemis in Arabic means Thursday, and Bab means Door or gateway. Today being Thursday is a day traditionally in this part of town when everybody comes to sell their junk at a market. So of I went for a browse around, after all we are in the middle of a credit crunch. I love this market. Here you will find the most extraordinary collection of Moroccan bric-a-brac for sale. Its a really exciting to be able to go and feast your eyes on this mad eclectic mix of groovy stuff.

You see as a kid one of my grandmothers lived close to the Portobello Road. Now one of Londons most famous shopping areas in Notting Hill Gate. Of course in the 70’s Portobello Road was far more like the Bab la Khemis Market selling all sorts of bric-a-brac, antiques and second hand furniture. And home to hippie culture. I remember this building….

by ©Luigi Petrazzoli

by ©Luigi Petrazzoli

For a little girl with eyes like a magpies I loved to spend time looking at all the  costume jewellery and beautiful little trinkets that had come from all the hippie trail destinations in the shops and the stalls. I often wonder if maybe it was this experience in my childhood that has made me feel so at home in the souks of Marrakech…………

So today this is what I found…….

Some Super glam party shoes, with handbags.

A crown

Look… a car boot sale. (So sorry for the bad joke)

For all you budding Interior designers

Some beautiful carved doors.

For that 50’s retro look, a barbers chair

Some cutlery…

Fancy a bath?

And last but not least the kitchen sinks.

Please though if you do fancy a wander around this market please try to be safe.

Marrakech is one of the safest cities I have ever been to but some places like this one are little of the beaten track.

 

~ by marrakechxanthepat on October 16, 2008.

6 Responses to “Everything, Including the Kitchen Sink at Bab El Khemis, Marrakech”

  1. Fabulous! I can’t believe I’ve been there so many times and never to this place! In March I’m there!!

  2. How exciting. March is such a beautiful time to come to Marrakech.
    Take care
    Xanthe

  3. nice! i’m gonna make my own journal

  4. Hello, I’m going to Marrakech in late August and hope to visit bab el kehmis. Do you think I might find old LP’s or records in this market?

    • No I havent seen any there but there is a store that used to sell old albums just of the street Yacoub El Mansour, below the Boustani Hotel. It sells all sorts of CDs now as well…….
      Hope you have a great stay in Marrakech
      Xanthe

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

