Suited and Booted Marrakech Style

Having only been here a short while we were very excited to be invited to a charity dinner up in Casablanca, it was a black tie event. I was of course totally prepared having packed in my luggage an appropriate dress and matching shoes, but my husband being a casual type of guy had left all that kind of stuff behind in London and had absolutely nothing to wear, where oh where could he find a dinner suit in Marrakech medina? He had of course been very scornful of the amount of luggage that I had brought with me so I decided to leave him to his own devices for a while
He searched all the menswear shops in the new town but much to his surprise he could find nothing, everything he tried was tiny, he who hates shopping was becoming very impatient until in the end he refused to go.
At this point I felt my involvement was necessary, as I did NOT want to miss out on the chance to go to a gala evening with the Princess Lalla Hassna, and the director of Cartier on the guest list.
My first desperate idea was to press gang one of the waiters in the local restaurant for his suit, but then I got a grip and marched my husband down to a place in the souk called Ben Sallah where they have a street full off tailors and had him measured up for a dinner suit A.S.A.P, remarkably it was ready in 3 days, it was hardly Saville Row quality but as long as it was dark on the night no one would notice.
I decided to investigate the charity in question its name is L’Association Al Issshane and it provides shelter to 285-orphaned children from birth to 6, it employs around 150 people and has two centres in Casablanca.
I have travelled quite extensively and have seen poorer places than Marrakech but the problem here is that the amount of people that are expected to come in the next ten years is going to have a huge effect on the local environment. Property prices are superficially high so many local people are suffering already.
Off we go on the new Marrakech Casa super highway, we are staying with friends in Ain Diab, they have just built an amazing high tec modern house in this beautiful area in Casablanca it’s a big contrast from the medina.
The evening was great fun trying to bid on all the wonderful things donated to the auction, I am now caftan crazy I had never seen such an array of beautiful fabrics and colours, soooo much more exciting than the usual black that’s so fashionable at European events.
I have now made an appointment with the haute couture caftan designer Kenza Melehi who is based between London and Marrakech so that next time we are invited to such an occasion we can both go in Marrakech inspired creations.
mc_11.jpg

Kenza Melehi
61 rue Yougaslavie
41 Passage Ghandori
GuiliezMarrakech
kenza1.jpg

~ by marrakechxanthepat on February 21, 2008.

4 Responses to “Suited and Booted Marrakech Style”

  1. What an interesting story! I hope you’ll share more of your interesting experiences in Marrakesh.

    Madame Monet

  2. Dear Madame Monet
    Thankyou for your kind comment,I always find your blog very interesting to.

  3. I LOVE THIS BLOG!

  4. There’s good info here. I did a search on the topic and found most people will agree with your blog. Keep up the good work mate!

    I’m Out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
