Moroccan Babouche Designs.

I got an email, a mission , to make some babouche (Moroccan Slippers) to be sold to a store, “how exciting”, all my friends said to design your own babouche collection. So of I rushed to one of my favorite places in the whole of Marrakech Medina, the leather souk. I spent hours rummaging around in the piles of dyed skins in millions of shades and textures. I wanted to be extravagant, I wanted sparkles, I wanted gold and silver, I wanted golden snake skins and silver alligators. After all I not only loved the story of the elves and the shoemaker, I wanted the twelve dancing princesses to come and buy them too. (they’d be great customers.)

But no this store had already had sparkles, they where fed up with shiny they wanted grown up and used words like “classic”, “tasteful” and most importantly “new ideas”. So here’s what I did.

  

For more information on these babouche see

Kaftan Queens Web Site

~ by marrakechxanthepat on June 2, 2008.

6 Responses to “Moroccan Babouche Designs.”

  1. Great job! Well done! I love them.

  2. i love them, great taste could you tell us where we can get them please.
    thank you for this great blog you have from far the most interesting one,always looking forward checking it up!!

  3. Thanks Marrakchi!!
    Xanthe

  4. Hi Jasly,
    Thanks for visiting my blog, hope to see you again soon. You can contact:
    kaftan_queen@yahoo.co.uk for all the details on the babouches. I’m sure they would love to hear from you.
    Xanthe

  5. Love them!
    Would greatly appreciate a tutorial how to make one. Am starting christmas presents crafts.
    thanks Emmy

  6. how can i get a pair of these? they are so cute n look very comfortable. are you selling these

Leave a Reply

 
